New E-Gold Phishing Scheme
As if it weren’t bad enough in the hyip and autosurf arena with all the scammer admins, now we have to look out for these e-gold phishing freaks.
We just received an email that appeared to be from e-gold claimed we had received a large payment from a blocked account, and please click link to authorize the payment. The email is a blatant “Phishing” scheme, and the link will take you to a page that looks like e-golds login page, but it is a phony and if you type in your id and password, they will be stolen.
| Dear E-gold Customer,You have received a payment from blocked e-gold account #168571 to the value of $4529.72. Your current account security settings are blocking payments of this type of account. If you wish to claim this payment anyway, please follow the link provided to update your account settings, and claim your payment instantly.
This payment was sent from: “baseacc1″ Your secure-claim URL: https://www.e-gold.com/claimpayment.jsp?batchid=5847471&accid=168571&amount=4529.72&sender=baseacc1 Please claim your payment within 48hours, or it will be refused and cancelled. Thank-you, |
How do you avoid this? First of all, always check the url in your browser reads ‘https://www.e-gold.com’ as the first part of the url. The link in the email above appears to be a vaild e-gold url, but when you click on it (or hover your mouse over it and look in your status bar), it really directs to
http://69.74.45.222/~kaboom/secure/login.html?claimpayment.jsp&batchid=5847471&accid=168571&amount=4529.72&sender=baseacc1
which is obviously not e-gold’s server. Always protect yourself and if an email says their is a problem with your acount, never click the url in the email, simply go to the site on your own and login, usually you will be prompted with a message to fix any account issues if there really were any.


![[Most Recent Quotes from www.kitco.com]](http://www.kitconet.com/charts/metals/gold/tny_au_en_usoz_2.gif)

